Training and Fitness

ImagePart of what carries one to the top of Kilimanjaro is fitness. 8 days of climbing a mountain requires strong core, leg muscles, and stamina. I feel I have the cardio down. Running half marathons (and hopefully a marathon this spring) has trained my lungs and heart to be strong and efficient; however, my IT band injury has demonstrated that my leg muscles aren’t as strong as they need to be. I also know that I have a very weak core. I also know I need to lose approximately 5-10 pounds. Ok, ok…I don’t NEED to but I want to. Part of that is easily solved in a week by diet. But more on that in a moment….

My plan is this: Until the New Year I plan to hit the gym 3-4 times a week and focus on strength training (weights and core). Once I feel my IT band is sufficiently healed and recovered, I will start integrating running into my training again. I plan to start with 2-3 miles and then work my way up to 6-7 miles. Also, I am buying new hiking boots for Kilimanjaro on Monday and plan to start hiking at least once a week in them. At first I will just hike in the boots but eventually I plan to load my pack, equivalent to what I will carry on the mountain, and start hiking with the pack on. During the Winter months I will probably just stick to hiking  more local mountains like Mill Mountain or Read Mountain, especially during the week. On the weekend I might hike Tinker, Sharp Top, or even McAfee’s. 

Diet: I really have to reign this in. My diet is horrible: lots of sugar, soda, and just carb loaded crap. I have to start eating better. For a year I did so well but stress has crept in and I am a stress eater. My first goal is to eliminate sugar and soda. Soda is a tough one because I have such emotional attachments to it. It makes me feel comforted,despite the fact it’s essentially poison. Crazy, huh?

Anyway, I plan to eat more fruits, veg, and lean proteins. Also, cutting out snacking too (Sadness! I heart snacks!). 

Okay…well it begins today. Starting weight is 120.2. My goal before I reach Kilimanjaro is to be between 110-115 lbs and a much stronger core and leg muscles (ripped arms would be okay too…haha). 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

