REI in Richmond

I really like this REI. It’s not as busy or picked over like the ones in NoVA and the lay out is much better than the one in Greensboro. Usually I find some good deals but alas, Cyber Monday proved to be a stupid day for me to go in and hunt for deals IN person. I didn’t find any good clearance deals, which is unusual but it’s probably because people raped the store on Black Friday.

My intention when I went in was to get a few more pieces of gear for Kilimanjaro. Specifically I wanted some convertible pants, that female pee catcher thingy (don’t even laugh…I don’t want to get out of my tent under Arctic conditions to find a place to squat), and possibly a bag liner or some trekking poles. In the end, I left with nothing.

The pants all sucked. Seriously, they all fit like a bad leotard. Too tight in the hoo haa. Who made those things? Certainly not a woman! Why do men expect “ball room” but so many women’s pants cut so deep you’d think they were attempting a pap??? Anywho….

The bag liner was ridiculously expensive and I am going to try to catch it on sale. Same with trekking poles. I saw a good deal on some down slippers (which was recommended by a friend who has a friend who went up Kili and said they were great…yadda, yadda, yadda, so forth and so on). However, I passed. I don’t see it as a necessity item and considering I am a broke public school teacher, I need to focus on the essentials right now.

Yeah…so that’s it. I walked away with nothing. Oh the female pee catcher thingy…there was NO way on God’s green earth that I was going to get in line and slap a pee catcher down on the counter without other items to serve as distractors. NO WAY. It’s a bit like tampons or enemas. If you buy those things, you really try to have a cart full of other items that take the glare off the fact you’re buying something that handles/deals in disgusting bodily fluids. I mean, sure…we all pee, we all crap (or don’t at times, hence the need for an enema) and half of us bleed, BUT…that certainly doesn’t take away from the social awkwardness of slamming a big industrial size box of said items down on a counter and smiling back at the 18 year old clerk. Or is it just me?  I digress…the point is, I didn’t get it. I will wait until I can hide it under some convertible pants or trekking poles.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

