Of Monsters and Men (and Mountains)

Ok, so this post doesn’t really have anything to do with Kilimanjaro but I will still try to make some connections for continuity’s sake. Ha!

So this past summer I heard “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men. Then I went to Iceland and fell in love with everything from that gorgeous island in the North. When I came back I got their album and memorized EVERY since song. So catchy and so gorgeous. I love the imagery in their songs. Whenever I hear one, I immediately think of a beautiful place in Iceland. I was so bummed to find out that I was a day late in catching them live in Reykjavik. How awesome would that have been? The only thing cooler than that would have been watching Sigur Ros play in Iceland (but I did get to see them on their opening night in Philly this past summer…and was front row and could count the hairs on Jonsi’s hair…so yeah, massive street cred for me!).

Anyway, when I found out they were playing in Richmond I bought tickets. They played last night at The National and put on an AMAZING performance. I absolutely love live music but this band took the experience to the next level. Other than Gogol Bordello, I’ve never really encountered a band that interacted and engaged the audience as much! It was such a great experience to be a part of a giant collective singing, clapping, etc. ALONG WITH the band. They also seemed so humble and genuine as artists and the smiles on their faces as they played really demonstrated their love for what they’re doing. This all sounds cheesy but if you had been there, you’d totally agree!

Okay..>Kilimanjaro connections: Well the opening act, Civil Twilight, is from South Africa. Ok, that’s a stretch but hey, it’s the same continent, right? lol Civil Twilight was very good and I enjoyed their performance. Talented guys.

Sleep deprivation. I didn’t get home until 2:30 and had to drive 3 hours to get home. I then turned around and got back up around 5:30. I thought today would be hell but I managed. I feel like this was a good test for the summit night. Apparently on summit night you get little sleep and have to push through sleep deprivation, exhaustion, cold, etc. to make it to the top. This was just a small test of what I can expect (again, I realize this is a stretch but I am trying to make connections instead of having a random post about an indie band).

Overall, it was a great night and it drove home the point that life is best when you jump in and get your head wet rather than sticking your toe in to test the water. Sure, I could have stayed home, saved a lot of money, effort (driving), and got a good nights sleep but there are few experiences as great as seeing a really amazing band play a small, intimate venue. I may be getting old but I’m not ready to live life like a suburban walking dead. I’m happy that at 37 I’m still road trippin’ to see bands play like I did when I was 17.  I am also excited that in six months I will be globe trottin’ to climb to the roof top of Africa and go on safari.

Anyway, check out the video of the show last night!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures