Cold Weather

Image

This is more in line with what I had in mind

Winter finally arrived today. Sort of. It’s been unseasonably warm here (Virginia, USA). On Saturday I was in short sleeves. While I’d normally embrace that, I just cannot get into the Christmas spirit when I’m sweating (slight exaggeration…but only slight, mind you). I wanted to get a Christmas tree but couldn’t bring myself to do it when the weather is so warm. But Lady Meteorology finally took a turn and it was a lot chillier today. Tonight it’s supposed to be in the 20’s! That’s more like it! Ordinarily I hate Winter and the cold but in the past few years I’ve grown to appreciate the stark beauty of Winter and so long as I can crank my heater into the upper 70’s, I’m happy. What’s this all got to do with Kili? I’ll tell you! Tonight when I left work I was so cold and I suddenly realized that I will spend a good portion of the climb feeling the way I felt tonight (or worse!). I’m so cold blooded and naturally have a low blood temperature. That means I don’t do so well in the cold. It takes layers upon layers just to keep me from convulsing with shivers. How will I stand the extreme cold that awaits, particularly on summit night/morning? I’m already stocking up on warm clothes and chemical warmers. Forward planning!

Image

A Typical Elementary School

In other news, I am getting sick (again!). Working in a school is one step below working for the Center for Disease Control. Being around 300 sniffling children is akin to working in a petri dish all day long. Disease and pestilence abound! Once you get over one thing, the next malady strikes. Aye ya ya! The latest bug seems to be some sort of lower respiratory infection. I am hoping to cut it off at the pass but we shall see.

Also in medical news, I have two appointments for my leg. Tomorrow I go to a chiropractor to see if my hips are misaligned. His name is Josh Gilbert and he comes highly recommended by friends in the running community. He, too, is a runner and is actually the head of a group who organizes races around the area. Hoping he can help. I am also scheduled to see a sports medicine doctor on Friday. Supposedly this dude is the best. *fingers crossed*. Between the two, I’m hoping they can resurrect my Lazarus of a leg. I’ll keep you posted!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

