Doctor’s visit

So if you’ve kept up with my blog, you’re well aware of my leg/knee/IT band issue. Lord knows I’ve harped on about it long enough. After much careful self imposed rehab I finally decided to seek professional help and went to see Dr. Delmas Bolin in Salem. He is affiliated with VA Tech in some way and works on their athletes so that seemed like a good sign. He specializes in Sports Medicine and I like think I’m a athlete- haha.

He took some x-rays of my knees and hips and declared I have gorgeous bones and nothing is wrong with the skeleton portion of my body. Yah! No arthritis- double yah! What he did say was that my left leg was LONGER than my right and my left hip was wider than my right. Great. That’s just what I want to hear…my hips are getting wider. *boo, hiss* He stated that my sacrum was misaligned as was many parts on my left side. He also stated that I had tibia torsion. Long story short he declared he could fix me and proceeded to manipulate and adjust my body. He claims he has me fixed and that I am clear to run starting to day (but on flat track for awhile) and that I can also begin marathon training next month. Super excited!!!!

I was very sore last night from all the manipulations and I’m hoping it’s a good sign that things have been put back into place. I am concerned that my adductors are still very sore and tight. I’m hoping that goes away. If not, I will return because I think he was great!

In gear news, I found a great deal on a pair of Mountain Hardwear rain pants. I will need them during the rain forest portion of the climb on Kili.  They were on sale at Walkabout Outfitters – 50% off! I love a good sale! Now I’m trying to find a good deal on some fleece pants. I really want the Mountain Hardwear Microchill fleece pants but I’m not paying full price. I will keep stalking REI and Moosejaw websites.

Bad news on the gaiters. They’re too big so I sent them back to Moosejaw but they can’t do an exchange because they don’t have my size right now. Sadness! 😦   On the bright side, I found them on Zappos.com for the same price (free shipping!) so I bought them. Hope they fit!

In less fun news, my heart goes out to the CT families who lost loved ones yesterday. So tragic. As a teacher, I can’t imagine something like that happening at my school. Praying for them all.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

