MRI Results

Image

Patty Cake, Patty Cake, Baker’s Man…I’ve got a cyst that’s ruining my plan

Got my MRI results yesterday and they were exactly what I dreaded: slightly inconclusive. They did confirm I have a gigantic Baker’s Cyst but the doctor said the radiologist didn’t see evidence of a tear or damage to the cartilage. He said that makes no sense because generally, a cyst is because of damage to the cartilage. He suggested there is something there that they didn’t see on the MRI. 

He then gave me some options which included getting a cortisone shot and seeing if that makes me feel better. If it doesn’t, I can come back and get it “scoped”. My second option is to forget the shot and just opt for scoping. My third option was to tell him to shove it. I elected option # 2. I don’t see the point if getting a shot to mask pain and reduce inflammation if there is an underlying cause not being addressed. I told him I don’t want to play around and prefer to go the “scope” option. I return on February 13 to talk to the surgeon. Not sure when the scope will happen. 

I asked about Kilimanjaro and he said I had plenty of time to recover and to not sweat it. Sounds good but I’m still nervous. Just hope, pray, and wait, I suppose. 

In gear news, my mittens arrived! I ordered a pair of Dakine Camino Mittens. I ordered them in large because I want enough room for my liners and some hand warmers. They look huge and ridiculous but I suppose on the mountain it’s function before fashion. They received pretty good reviews but I will give a full report when I return. 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

