It’s gone!

Today was the big day! I went to have my Bakers cyst aspirated. It was far less eventful than I imagined. I guess for something that has caused me so much pain, I expected more of a “to-do” for it’s going away party. Nonetheless, I am very happy it’s gone!

Image

This won’t hurt a bit!

The procedure was pretty straight forward. The doc used ultrasound to locate the cyst. They were surprised by it’s location. If I am not mistaken, the radiologist said it was on the lateral side. Apparently, that’s not common. Perhaps that also explains why the outside of my knee area hurts when I run. Hmmm. Anyway, they shot me up with lidocaine to numb the area then proceeded to suck out the synovial fluid. I watched all the gory details on the monitor. Actually, it wasn’t gory at all. It looked like a white stick puncturing a black oval on the screen. However, I will say it was pretty cool to see the cyst deflate on screen. No pain at all. Afterwards the doctor asked if I wanted to see the fluid. Heck yeah! That’s MY fluid. I made that stuff all by myself! Of course I want to see it! haha. It was pretty wild looking. Kind of a yellowish clear color but thick and viscous like honey.  Yum! 

Image

My glacier covered dream

In non medical related news, tomorrow marks the 90 day countdown for my trip to Africa. Okay, technically it marks the day I drive to DC to spend the night to catch a plane the following morning- haha. But still, it will be a travel day and a day full of excitement for me, so I am counting it!

Also, I should add that tomorrow I am starting a new workout plan. It will involve 4 days of weight lifting. I really need to add some muscle mass and I think the plan I have will be a good start. Lots of solid but basic exercises to help me build strength and add some muscle. It will be interesting to see where I am, physically, in 90 days just before I head out to Kilimanjaro.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

