Milo

Image

Milo, the Kilimanjaro Treat.

Image

Xavi

I’ve been reading a ton of Kili blogs and the one word that continues to surface blog after blog is: Milo. Apparently it’s some sort of chocolate drink that the cooks serve up on Kili. Now apparently it’s not like hot chocolate. I’ve never heard of it. But apparently everyone but the United States drinks it; yet, everyone blames another nation for responsibility. I’ve seen blogs that refer to it as an Australian drink, a Tanzanian drink, a South African drink, a German drink, etc.Not sure who Milo belongs to but imagine my shock and awe when I passed the “clearance” rack in the back of Wal-Mart and spied my friend, Milo! Yep, there he was with some intense Xavi Hernandez lookin’ dude on the label. Yeah, that’s right. A soccer player (that’s football to my international readers…that is, assuming I have ANY readers). Soccer. Player. This, my dear readers, was obviously never intended for American consumption. In the United States, only children under the age of 10 play soccer so the truth is, Xavi or whoever that dude is, has no marketing appeal to Bobby and Becky. This probably explains why it was on the clearance rack.

Image

Be sure to drink your Ovaltine!

Now, take a look at the picture. What Ireally find interesting is that the price tag confirmed all that I suspected. The price label says “Hispanic drink”. See! Everyone in the world but America loves Milo. And that, dear readers, is what concerns me. I’ve got a suspicious feeling that ol’ Milo over there tastes like the dreaded Ovaltine. Blech! Ovaltine. You know that stuff. It’s what poor Ralphie was conned into drinking by Little Orphan Annie. So the whole point of this blog entry is to state for the record that I think Milo is Ovaltine’s international cousin and I won’t be drinking it on the mountain. Instead, I’ll just carry up individual packets of my preferred international friend, Swiss Miss.

Image

Yum!

Image

I’d rather have THIS Milo in my tent on Kili. 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

