3 Out of 4 Ain’t Bad!

Last time I posted I mentioned I used KT tape. So far, it’s pretty good. I like it. It held up well overnight. I’m a wild sleeper and move all around the bed. Don’t ask me what I do and no, I don’t want to be videotaped because my luck, I’d see someone standing over me ala Paranormal Activity. Zoiks! Regardless, the KT tape stayed put. I do think it helped with some pain. I might take some to Kili.

According to my training plan, I was supposed to run 4 miles today BUT I was very worried I wouldn’t even be able to run 1 mile. I psyched myself up and went to the gym because the weather outside was pretty windy. If I was going to fail, I didn’t want to do it while being blown away by the wind. Also, I felt it was important to stay as flat as possible since downhill can aggravate popliteal issues. My goal was to get to one mile and judge from there. I eventually made it to three miles with NO pain so I felt that was a good place to stop. I definitely could’ve continued because I felt really good thanks to the SUPER SLOW pace but I didn’t feel the need to push it. One mile short of my training plan seemed like a fair compromise given the nature of my anatomy right now. Afterwards I went and stretched really well. I forgot to say that I also stretched like crrraaazzzzzy before I started to run because my glutes and hamstrings were uber tight. I think this really helped and I can see how, in the past, my lack of stretching has added to this problem. I also decided to do a better job of icing down. In the past I used to take ice baths and those work so well but it takes a LOT o’ courage to shimmy down into a tub full of glacial water. So instead, I’m just wrapping bags of frozen peas around my knee. Oh…and I’m gulping NSAIDs. Yah! :/

I got a lot of Kili loot today! A new headlamp, a Steripen, a small leatherman to replace my gigantic one that is M.I.A., some compression sacks, etc. Oh yeah..REI FINALLY gave up the dividend and I got a water proof compression sack for my sleeping bag. From all that I’ve read, it can rain a lot on Kili and frankly, I don’t want to risk a wet sleeping bag. I also ordered my Sea to Summit Extreme Liner for my bag. I might try it out when I backpack in Catawba. We shall see. 

That’s it for today. Gotta go practice my Swahili. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

