Travel Moment # 1

This blog is quickly turning into many things other than Kilimanjaro and I’m fine with that. Afterall, I don’t plan to abandon it after I finish Kilimanjaro. I will continue to write about my adventures here. With that said, this morning I remembered a good time I had once in Ireland and I thought I should track wonderful moments in time so that I never forget them. From time to time, as I recollect, I will post them here. So here’s the first one:

Image

The Quays in Galway, Ireland.

I will never forget the night I spent drinking cider and listening to bands play at The Quays pub in Galway, Ireland in 2007. It was jam packed and the bartender was a great guy! A young group of people were in the corner playing various songs including “Wild Irish Rover” but the highlight of the night was when they started playing Johnny Cash songs. The whole room erupted into the loudest, racous singing I’ve ever heard! I remember singing “Folsom Prison Blues” and banging my glass on the bar in unison with everyone else. It seemed so absurd to be standing in an Irish pub listening to old American country music. Amazing how you can have the time of your life with a bunch of absolute strangers all because of a common love for live music. I think it’s the small moments like this that make life so much fun.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Travel Moment # 1

  1. Lin

    great anecdote! it made me a bit nostalgic for my pub days 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

