Broad Street Run

Image

Love Park, Philadelphia

*Author’s Note: I wrote this a week ago and forgot to post it**

I love Philly! I lived there for nearly eight years and consider it my second home. I left only to be closer to my family in Virginia. I returned this weekend to run the Broad Street Run.  I miss my city! Originally I signed up last year but the race was a week after the Nashville Half Marathon and I just didn’t want to run two long distances back to back…and travel to do it. So I deferred my entry to this year and my friend Nik C ran (Spice girl name!) with me.

I’ve been praying and paying (co-pays) in an attempt to resolve this IT band issue so that I could triumphantly run down Broad Street but sadly, it didn’t work out as I planned. I’ll get to that in a moment.

Broad Street Run starts in Olney in North Philly which, frankly, is a pretty rough section of town. I lived there for nine months. In fact, the race starts RIGHT IN FRONT of my old apartment. I’ll never forget moving in and two weeks later hearing a guy get shot in the parking lot of my apartment. Gunshots and screams of agony and fear…ahhh, City of Brotherly Love! 😉 I digress….the course follows Broad past City Hall and down to the Navy Yard in South Philly. The weather was gorgeous but the morning was very cold. Luckily Nikki brought a thermal blanket from  the Nashville Half and and we took turns wrapped up in it as we stood over the subway grates. The extremes a runner will go just to run a race, I tell ya!  Once the sun came up and the race started we were fine.

So back to my leg….I felt great until mile 3. Then I felt my glutes getting tight. That’s when my heart started to sink.  By mile 4 I knew my IT band was in trouble. By mile 5 I had to walk. From there I did walk run intervals until I got to mile 9. At that point I just ran it in. I discovered that if I pushed out on my knee as my foot made impact, I was able to run without too much pain. I’m upset with my time. It’s a PR for WORST time; however, I am thankful I was able to finish the race. My goal is to run it again next year (the whole thing). I am also thankful for my friend who stayed with me. I feel badly that I held her back but I appreciate that she didn’t want to leave me behind. That’s a true friend!

I am tired so I will spare all the poetic details of the race but a highlight for me was running past Temple Hospital and seeing a little sick boy in a wheelchair. They rolled him out to watch. Also pretty awesome to hear 30K runners cheer for him as they ran by. I pray for good health and a long life for the lil guy.

Overall I think I just need to strengthen my glutes for now and focus on that. I also think I will just lay off running until I get back from Kilimanjaro. The last thing I need is to have my summit attempt thwarted by this evil piece of fascia that lives in my leg. Ok I am tired…that is all.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

