Memorial Day, Viruses, and Hot Dogs

Click Image to enlarge

I’m infected

In precisely two weeks I begin my journey to Africa! I’m a mixed bag of excitement, dread (for all the airport nonsense), and nervousness. So many things are running through my mind. For one thing, I’ve got this ridiculous illness which refuses to budge. Doctor said it’s bronchitis and gave me antibiotics but I dunno. Either amoxicillian is as effective as water OR I have a virus. I’m leaning towards the latter. I’ve GOT to shake this thing before I leave because there’s NO way I can trudge past 15K feet feeling this way.

The other thing weighing on my mind is this STUPID knee. Suddenly, I feel pains even when I am sitting. I chalk this up to effin’ with the popliteus muscle the other day before my run. Despite what the army of doctors I enlisted to help think, it’s NOT my IT band and I am NOT suffering from ITBS. Instead, I am 127% convinced that I have tendonitis of the popliteus muscle. Problem is, since it’s not a common injury and it’s not one that is either A,) easily diagnosed and worse yet, B.) not easily fixed, the doctors try to convince themselves, and me, that it’s ITBS. Thank God for Google because I’ve been able to figure it all out myself. Not sure what the fix is…but I just pray it calms down long enough for me to summit. We shall see. 

Tasty lil’ fella

I’m going to spend this weekend trying to flush the Ebola virus out of my body and work on iPod playlists for Africa…oh, and maybe eat a hotdog in honor of Memorial Day. Not sure how a hot dog honors our fallen but I’d like to think those dead soldiers in Arlington and American Cemetery in France are smiling down on me as I murder an Oscar Mayer in the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave! Seriously though, I do want to pause for a moment this weekend to remember all those who’ve given their life for this country. It’s a pretty awesome thing that I live in a country where, as a woman, I am free to pursue my dreams, without the help or attendance of a man! Sure there are still things like glass ceilings and such…but I am free in the United States. Free to vote, free to speak my mind, free to own property…free to pursue happiness. I am thankful for my freedom! Now bring on the adventure!

Image

I took this photo at American Cemetery in Normandy France 12 years ago. Every American should visit. Thank you, lads!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

