10 days and a wake up!

I can’t believe that I’m only 10 days away from beginning my Kilimanjaro adventure! It hardly seems real! Six months ago it seemed so far away!

I’m starting to have real anxiety about reaching the summit. Until this week I’ve been confident in my ability to reach the top but a sudden illness, which resulted in me feeling awful, caused me to reflect upon how difficult it is to do something strenuous when you’re feeling under the weather. I started to think about how difficult it will be to reach the summit if I am feeling the effects of Altitude Sickness and how wretched it must be to push on despite headache, nausea, and sheer exhaustion. I am going to pray I make it. Not just for myself but for all the people who’ve supported my dream. 

Also, I really want to reach the summit to honor the people who’ve donated to the charities for which I’ve been raising money. Everyone I know has been so generous and it really warms my heart to know that I am friends with and surrounded by a network of people who are so generous with their money and so encouraging with their words, thoughts, and prayers. Life really is good. I hope the funds raised help make it a little bit better for children in Africa!

Speaking of donors, one of my promises to those who donated was that I’d carry their name to the top of the mountain with me. Initially, the thought was just to write them down on a piece of paper and carry it up; however, as the number of donations increased, I realized I needed to do something more. So I decided upon a flag! Tonight, with the help of my parents, I made a “Donor’s Flag”. I bought some canvas and my step mom sewed a seam around it. My dad and I put eyelets in it so I can tie it to the summit sign. It looks great! Now I just have to get my friend Tresa to help me decorate it and write the names on it. I think it’s going to be awesome. I will post pictures of it when I am finished but for now, here is the blank canvas (literally). 

My dad and step mom helped me with this. They are awesome! I love them!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

