A Perfect Summer Day

The past two days have been absolutely gorgeous here in Southwest Virginia! I’ve capitalized on it by taking my dog swimming in a creek near the spot I grew up. It’s been the best time! As we splashed around I started to think that it’s moments such as those that matter the most in life.

I’ve been on some epic adventures in my short life. I’ve sipped on Guinness in some of the best pubs in Ireland, watched the Eiffel Tower twinkle in the Parisian night sky, climbed over derelict German bunkers on the beaches of Normandy, and have walked in the ancient footsteps of emperors and gladiators in Rome. I’ve climbed Caribbean mountains where pirates used to hide, visited the temples of mythic gods in Greece, and sailed the Adriatic and Ionian seas. I’ve lived among the Communist ruins of Eastern Europe and slept on Mexican beaches. I’ve been attacked by gypsies (seriously) and I’ve climbed glaciers in Iceland.

Yet, as amazing as all that is, and as awesome as Africa will surely be, today as I played with my dog under a perfect summer sky in a creek I swam in as a child, I couldn’t help but think that  small moments such as that are worth far more than the grand, epic adventures. It’s easy and exciting to make a bucket list of dreams and it’s even more exciting when you can scratch them off the list; however, I think that when I am old and dying, I won’t care so much about glaciers, mountains, or exotic locales. I think my dying mind will resurrect the quiet, simple moments I had with the ones that I loved. My memory will drift back to conversations with my dad under a shade tree, opening presents at Christmas with my family, and yes, playing in the creek with my dog. I think, at the essence of it all, that is what life is really about and I think those are the adventures that matter the most.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Perfect Summer Day

  1. kilimattjaro

    Have a great trip and best of luck in reaching Uhuru Peak. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and look forward to hearing how your time in Tanzania went, My group and I depart on the 14th so we’re right behind you! Matt.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

brickthomas's Blog ©

Biking, Hiking, Travel

Kilimattjaro

My journey to reach the roof of Africa

Run5kaday's Blog

Daily distance running adrenaline!

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Travelworms

Wanderings

To Kilimanjaro (and beyond?)

"To travel, to experience and learn, that is to live......" {Sherpa Tensing Norgay}

Drink - Play - Love

Parenting, improved by travel and cocktails

Never2late4's Blog

Adventures in procrastination

ATHLETES ON THE GRIND

You don't know us now... But you will...

Private Tours Kilimanjaro

Ready to conquer the roof of Africa?

runventure

running adventures

